With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Not so stylin'.

2005-08-31 - 9:43 a.m.

You know the clich� about how, when you�re pregnant, you suddenly see pregnant women everywhere? Not true. At least, not in my case.

I found I saw pregnant women everywhere during the year I was trying to get pregnant, and even before that when I was contemplating going off the Pill and trying. Now that I am pregnant, can you guess what I see everywhere? Can you?

Skinny women.

Specifically, skinny women wearing cute, flattering clothes. Stylish clothes. Clothes that ride low on hips, that hug curves, and bare maybe just half an inch of flat, tanned midriff. Clothes that I wonder where they got them and then realize that it matters not; I cannot wear them any longer and by the time I could they�d be out of style. When going through my no-longer-fitting winter wardrobe, it was brought home to me that my style, particularly my work style, is �pants that sit below my waist by a couple of inches and fitted/tailored shirts that end maybe an inch or two lower.� This is not a look for a pregnant woman. If nothing else, I need long shirts to hide those ridiculous, expanding, kangaroo-style pouches at the front of the pants I�m sure to need. And fitted shirts = shirts that will only fit for a few weeks, unless they have more give to them than my normal dress shirts with collars. Today I feel downright frumpy in handed-down maternity pants and shirt that are both way too big for me still. Something has got to be done, I�m getting desperate!

Ottawa, my friends, is a near-wasteland when it comes to places to buy maternity clothes. There is one maternity-specific chain that carries semi-stylish stuff but, not only are they slightly expensive for clothes you�ll only wear for a few months, if you can�t find anything there you are almost out of options. I recently tried on every pair of appropriate-for-work black pants that were there at the time, and not one of them fit properly. They looked great on the hanger but on me? Forget it. Pockets bulging oddly on the sides or so low on the back that they make my ass look 3 inches lower. Waistlines that fit but legs that were practically painted onto my thighs and flapped loosely around my knees. Oh sigh.

I�ve heard rumours of two other stores in the city that don�t belong to this chain but I�ve yet to see them with my own two eyes and I�ve heard that at least one of them has stuff that�s less stylish than the aforementioned chain. I know I�ve seen great things on the internet � but without knowing if that brand fits my body type, I�m afraid of ordering something without trying it on and then having it not fit. Also, most of the online stores I see cool things at are American, and there are horrendous charges at the border for shipping an item into Canada � I�ve had a twenty-dollar item cost me more than double that because the handling company tacks on a huge processing fee in addition to the taxes and duties they charge on behalf of the Canadian government.

I go to my gym, which is in the biggest mall downtown, and pass dozens and dozens of stores which sell clothes I can no longer wear. I can�t even window shop, really, because it�s too frustrating. I LOVE the Belly, but I just wish it were easier to find clothes that really flatter it around here. Maybe a trip to Montreal or even Toronto is in order. I hear good things about the outlet stores just over the border too.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland