With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Am I ready for this Belly?

2005-08-16 - 7:55 p.m.

It�s undeniable: the Belly has started. It�s still pretty small � more of a proto-belly really � but it�s definitely there. This was brought home this weekend when turning sideways no longer allowed me to squeeze through smaller spaces. I was exiting a doorway and turned sideways to slip out� and my belly skimmed into the door frame.

My initial reaction to this subtle bulge? I love it! I�m kind of surprised how much, given my aversion to chub (at least mine) and my past weight-related despair, but this is definitely different: kind of for a higher purpose. And for once I know I�m supposed to be gaining weight and acquiring a graceful sloping pear shape.

Ever since the week the second line showed up on the pee stick, I�ve been surreptitiously checking myself out to see if I�m showing. Now, I grin and mentally preen when I see the little bump starting in any and all reflective surfaces I pass. If no one I know is around, I often give the Belly an affectionate pat or rub and there�s an extra bounce in my step after.

I don�t really understand the negative reactions to a pregnant woman�s shape that I�ve heard of. I haven�t gotten so obvious that I�ve ever had this inflicted on me (at least not yet) but my jaw dropped when an obviously pregnant woman at my gym relayed how, not once but twice she�s had people comment in loud tones near her how ugly a pregnant body is and how the speaker hopes they never get pregnant because they�d hate looking so fat. Not only is this sentiment the complete opposite of what I think, I�m astounded that anyone could be so rude and insensitive to a stranger, much less a pregnant one. I know a lot of people give unsolicited advice � and boy how much am I looking forward to that? � but at least those are generally well-meaning busybodies. To comment negatively on the appearance of a stranger, while deliberately within earshot, is just so appallingly rude I�d hope their mothers would have the grace to be ashamed of them if they knew.

Back to a happy note, I�m really enjoying this pregnancy so far. I have lots of time for the heartburn and peeing every 15 minutes to start � for now I�m reveling in flaunting my wee Belly in my new maternity pants and tank tops in the warm late-summer air.

-----------------

Nova Scotia was good, albeit cool and damp for most of the time we were there. We enjoyed spending time with our friends and we had a couple of great meals and did get to the beach despite the less-than-ideal-for-it weather. I'm not in front of a computer much this week but I'm going to try to get some details and a couple of pics up before the end of Friday.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland