With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

14 weeks / 2 years / 3 � years

2005-08-09 - 2:33 p.m.

14 weeks pregnant today. Woot! My plan to �come out� to the rest of the team here at work this morning went astray as the meeting went into overtime and I had to leave for another meeting. I won�t be here next week until Friday, so maybe there will no longer be a need to tell when I get back and I�ll be obviously in maternity clothes at that point. Or maybe I�ll surprise myself and poke along in my regular clothes � the ones I thought I wouldn�t be fitting into by now.

Today is J�s and my 2nd wedding anniversary. Some of the earliest entries in this journal talk about our wedding. There�s a song lyric from a band called The Girl Next Door (their CD Remembering Analogue is awesome by the way) which describes how I feel about J and I:

Nobody�s perfect.* Except we are.
We are perfect for each other.
And we are perfect for each other. I can�t imagine anyone being better for me, with me, or to me.

The 3 � in the title is how many years we�ve actually known each other, and it�s a significant number for me. 3 � years has marked the end of two previous significant relationships in my life. Starting at about the 3-year mark, things have traditionally started to go downhill and the big implosion generally took about 6 months to get to. Way back, when J and I had decided to get married after knowing each other for 9 months, I was, in the very back of my mind, just the teeniest, tiniest bit apprehensive about how we�d feel at the 3-3 � year mark. Would the shine be off the relationship? Would we be happy we�d decided when we did to take the plunge? Or would the fabled �honeymoon stage� be over?

That question has been answered: we�re still happy, still googly-eyed over each other actually, and are both excited about the upcoming addition to our family. I know this is a clich�, but it�s true that not a day goes by that I don�t think to myself how lucky I am to be with this wonderful man. Even days where I�m stressed or he�s grouchy, there is still at least that one moment of clarity and thankfulness that we�re together. We�ve been there to support each other in very bad times and share in the very good, and both types of experiences have brought us ever closer together and formed us, not just as people, but as a couple, over the last 3 � years.

Happy Anniversary Sweetheart. I�m looking forward to the many, many, many more to come.

----------------------
*Actually, I think he�s almost perfect all on his own; I just know that I�m not.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland