With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Sialolithiasis anyone?

2005-05-27 - 5:16 p.m.

So the sore cheek? A stone in my salivary gland! (See the link I posted yesterday for more info.) How weird is that? It�s the sort of thing you only hear of if it happens to you or someone you know (or someone whose journal you read, I guess). I�d heard of kidney and bladder stones before � particularly when I coordinated research for the urology group at the hospital � but I�d never realized that you could get stones in the glands that produce spit.

The doctor said that the pop followed by the draining meant that it had worked its way through the salivary duct on its own. There was no point in ultrasounding my cheek, the usual thing to diagnose for sure when someone presents with my symptoms, since it was gone by that point. If it happens again I�m to, get this, suck on a lemon! I thought that it might dissolve the stone but no, it makes one�s mouth water a lot and pushes the stone through faster. If a stone gets lodged and won�t work its way free on its own, I have no idea what they do. I understand the condition can become quite painful.

Of course, my husband has seized on this as further proof that I don�t drink enough fluids � something I already admitted was a factor in the large number of urinary tract infections I�ve gotten over the years. My doctor however, says that these �just happen� and there�s no conclusive reason why.

-------------------------

I�m quasi-looking forward to tomorrow evening and the annual 10K race my dad and I participate in for the family trophy. On doctor�s orders, I haven�t been training so I don�t expect to go very fast this year. In fact, in my dream last night I took a full hour and 20 minutes � 22 minutes slower than my normal �comfortable� pace. I did do an 8K practice run a few weeks ago, but that�s all the running I�ve done this year. I was surprised to find that I was relatively comfortable for the full 8K so I don�t expect to do too badly tomorrow.

I�m whole-heartedly looking forward to (dum dah DUM!) the Great Glebe Garage Sale tomorrow morning. I wait all year for it. I just hope it doesn�t rain. I�d rather have rain on my run than during the sale. I have my plan of attack all mapped out and I�m specifically looking for tops I can wear to work, capris and shorts. Think I won�t find them? Think again. I rarely don�t manage to find at least part of my �hit list�.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland