With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Changes afoot.

2005-05-17 - 3:10 p.m.

Day 20 of this cycle and I can�t believe I forgot to take my temperature this morning. You�d think it�d be a solid routine after doing it for over 6 months straight. Now I�m feeling kind of icky and crampy and have no idea why. Not to sound pessimistic, but it feels like the PMS symptoms I often get several days before a cycle ends. Bleah. This Saturday, day 24, I�ll be going to get blood drawn to find out if my progesterone level indicates that I did ovulate this month or if I need to increase the clomiphene dosage.

I don�t know if I�ll be taking it the next cycle or if I�ll end up waiting a cycle in between � if I do have a textbook 28-day cycle this month, I�ll be out of town from days 19 to 23. Since we�re supposed to �try� every 2nd day from days 12 to 22, taking Clomid and then missing half of those days doesn�t seem too useful.

On a completely different subject, I may (okay, will) be changing jobs again soon. The training program I�m in is almost done (4 one-year assignments) and I�m starting to get a lot of interest for my exiting job. This may sound odd but I�m actually a bit concerned that everyone�s expectations of me and what I can do are too high. There�ve been some mighty big carrots dangled in front of my nose and I�m told that I�ve gained a reputation of �someone who gets things done� in the department. What if they�re wrong? What if I can�t do everything they seem to think I can? I appreciate the thought of more money � who wouldn�t really? � but I�m not entirely convinced that my performance will measure up to it. Still, despite the misgivings, I am grateful for the opportunities coming my way and the faith in me behind them. There are some people I really respect and would love to work with making offers.

Interestingly, the one I�m going to in the short term, whether I decide to stay there or not, also wants me to bring the co-op student I�ve got working for me right now. This team is at the heart of a huge organizational change taking place, and it would be a very valuable experience to be part of it for the sake of her future career. I haven�t brought it up to her yet but I�m planning to today. I get the feeling she�ll be keen as I have to admit that both she and I are under-utilized right now.

The other good thing about this team? The woman bringing me in knows about J�s and my family-starting efforts and she�s totally supportive of helping me develop my career in a good direction to get a solid foundation for it. The offer I think I�ll ultimately turn down comes from someone who I don�t think would be as understanding.

So, in a couple of weeks I�ll probably have a lot more to tell you but a lot less time to tell you in. I hope to keep updating regularly and I�ll try to do so, but I don�t know what the next few weeks will bring for sure. I hope y�all understand. In the meantime, being under-utilized has its advantages when one wants to keep updating one�s journal.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland