With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Great minds think alike; gardening tale.

2005-05-12 - 11:35 a.m.

Shawna�s thought processes:

Tuesday
J hasn�t done anything with the garden yet. I know we said that if we weren�t going to grow anything we�d just sod the thing over but it�s still just dirt. When J turned the dirt on Monday he must have been getting it ready for sodding or perhaps even planting. Ha ha! I will steal a march on J and surprise him! During the day I�m taking off tomorrow, I will plant flowers and shrubs and he will be so surprised when he comes home, and happy that I�ve done the garden this year, it will be awesome!

Wednesday � a.m.
Time�s a wastin�. So many choices at the Garden Centre! Thank goodness I�ve got my gardening-loving friend Diane here helping me with this stuff. Got to pick nice plants that like my soil and sun conditions. Not. Going. To. Get. Overwhelmed. Okay, I want a mugo pine for sure. What are these things? They�re pretty, I�ll get some of these too. Oh and a blue hydrangea? How could I possibly resist? (Glee, glee, glee.) I love gardening.

Wednesday � p.m.
I hate gardening. This is heavy, hot work. And dirty, SO DIRTY! I hate getting my hands all caked with this muck! Gah, I can�t believe I paid for cow poop, and now I�m actually touching it with my bare hands. Gross! Why did Diane insist that peat and manure were important and had to be turned into the dirt? I was going to dig little holes, drop the plants in and, poof, aaaaalllll done. Sweaty, sticky, yuck. What is that? A sunburn on my shoulders? But it�s cloudy! (Grumble, grumble, grumble.) Oh well, at least it�ll be worth it to surprise J with the pretty, pretty garden.

J�s thought processes:

Wednesday � late p.m.
Where are Shawna and Diane? Wait, I see them out the back window� they�re� gardening! Oh no! The poor little seeds I planted to surprise Shawna on Monday! They�re all dug up!

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland