With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

05/05/05

2005-05-05 - 12:57 p.m.

I am now officially kicking off the Big Birthday Month in my family. Today my youngest brother is entering the terrible teens. Already he�s getting less communicative with the family and more into his friends; we are no longer (if we ever were) cool in his eyes. Aw, how precocious. We can only look forward to a few years from now, perhaps in his early twenties, when he might deign to grace us with his presence for after-dinner conversation of his own volition.

Today is also the birthday of an ex of mine, who�s exactly 20 years older than my brother. He�s down in Texas, living in the country with his wife and adorable baby daughter. I was looking at his website today and sending happy birthday vibes his way.

If your �champagne birthday� is the one where you turn the age of the day your birthday is on, I wonder what sort of special celebration you might hold for the year your birthday falls on a date like today, where the day, the month and the year are all the same?

With Mother�s Day this weekend, followed by my mom�s, other brother�s, and niece�s birthdays all in a row at the end of the month, May is an expensive month for me. I�ve got presents already bought for the stuff this week though. My younger brother asked for a couple of plain black t-shirts to put decals on that he�s already got, and in Hawaii J and I got my mother a, no word of a lie, large metal pineapple tea-light lantern. I swear it�s a lot nicer than it sounds and I think she�ll like it. She likes things that are kind of funky and the red will go with her latest d�cor theme. Good thing she doesn�t know about this site so it won�t spoil the surprise. Shhhh..

Spider and I are in a bit of a pickle about our mom�s birthday present though � she wants a watch like the one I�ve got (a Storm Multirel) but she wants the purple colour I have and they only seem to carry green ones now. *gulp* Not sure what to do about that one. If all else fails I may give her mine and get myself another that I like as much. I�ve looked online but all the sites I�m finding aren�t in any language I can read. If you have any better luck, drop me a line.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland