With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Don't you feel special now?

2005-02-21 - 10:41 a.m.

Quick news bite (byte?): I pulled something in my lower back setting up for my class at the gym on Saturday so I�m out of exercise commission as I rest and hopefully heal up for the next class I teach which will be on Wednesday. It hurts to sneeze.

Phooey.

------------------------------------

I�m not that close with my husband�s sister. It�s nothing personal against her; it�s just that we have very little in common outside the fact that we�re related by marriage, and as long as I�ve known J his sister has lived a 4-hour drive away, so we haven�t ever had the opportunity to really get to know each other. The most time I spent with her was the month that their mom was in the hospital (check the entries from last November if you want to read about that time period in my life) and the setting wasn�t exactly conducive to focusing on our relationship. Most of our energy went to focusing on the woman in the hospital bed and checking in on how the other people were coping with the situation. I think we learned a lot about each other�s character that month, but didn�t really get to swap stories or learn those little things that give you an �in� with the other person.

Oddly enough, I have had the chance to become quite close friends with one of my sister in-law�s best friends who lives here in town. We don�t have a lot in common either, yet we�ve never been at a loss for things to giggle about over a no-boys-allowed dinner. Last night J was unexpectedly called in to his work for the evening (his employee didn�t show up for his shift) so we had a chance to have one of those sorts of meals. She said something that surprised me: over the last number of months my sister in-law had been hinting that maybe J and I were �trying� or asking outright if maybe I was pregnant!

I feel kind of bad about this: that my sister in-law would think I�d tell her friend before I told her news of that magnitude. True, the friend knows we are indeed trying � she�s a nurse so I�ve had a couple of questions for her, plus she�s baby-mad and has been more forthright about just asking me and I�ll generally answer honestly if asked � while my sister in-law only apparently suspects (she�s never asked or I would have told her). Nevertheless, if we were to get pregnant � and I told the friend to pass this tidbit on to reassure my sister in-law � the first people we�d tell would be family.

After the whole internet of course.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland