With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

I never did like ferns.

2005-01-12 - 9:36 a.m.

If I�m lucky I�ll be able to sneak in two entries this week � today and tomorrow � but after that the internet will just have to cool their heels because Hawaii, here we come. We�re leaving Friday morning and boy, do we have a flurry of packing to do, not to mention making/keeping the place fairly in the process �cause a friend of J�s will be staying over at our place to keep an eye on things for part of the time we�ll be gone.

Work has been pretty hectic this week, plus we�ve had a couple of things take us out of the office so I haven�t had a lot of time to write. Let�s see, what�s new...

I�ve discovered that, despite their claim of being 98% accurate if used correctly, that whole drying-your-spit-and-looking-at-it-through-a-microscope thing isn�t for me. I�d checked a couple of times near the end of December and saw nothing then tried it one more time on the weekend and what did I see? Ferning!! Then the next morning? Nothin�. And my basal body temperature (BBT) graph didn�t indicate ovulation at that time. So, like a couple of the studies I�ve found, plus the fact I�ve seen a message board post correlating ferning with estrogen spikes that bring on migraines (and I had a small one too at the time), I�ve concluded that this isn�t going to be a useful indicator for me.

Back to the good old try-close-to-daily-until-my-BBT-rises-for-a-few-days method. Let�s hope my cycles get shorter than the last one or J is going to be one tired fellow.

Also in the baby-making-department: we have an appointment! I�m glad that we got the referral �cause they�re booking in June so if we�d waited another three or four months we would be getting in for a consultation even until the autumn.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland