With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Sometimes I don't want to be right.

2004-12-29 - 10:55 a.m.

It turns out I was right about what the falling basal body temperature signaled. This means that that cycle lasted a full 56 days. This seems rather disturbing to me since I was hoping my cycles would get shorter and more regular, rather than the current trend I�m seeing of longer and less regular.

I didn�t mention it in my post-visit entry, but last time I went to see the doctor I brought up the fact that my cycles weren�t very stable. The first one after going off the Pill lasted 3 months, the second one was 35 days (Aug 15 to Sept 19), and the third was 40 days (Sept. 20 to Oct. 28). At the time I was only 11 days into the next one. Based on these numbers, my doctor didn�t seem alarmed and said that I should try for a year before she�d think it appropriate to investigate further. And sure, 35 and 40 days isn�t too bad I suppose. Both are longer than average but I would think they�re acceptable. However, with the addition of 56 days for the next cycle, I�m a bit alarmed. I don�t want to necessarily seek intervention, but I wouldn�t mind checking to make sure things are functioning properly. It would suck to try for a year suspecting that there was a problem and then find out after the year was up that I was right in suspecting something and we�d been wasting a year when we should have been doing something differently. I�m not over 35 yet but nor to I want to start a family at over 35 and each year I get closer to that number.

Here�s something interesting � in checking the dates I noticed that the last time I got my period was the day before going to my sister in-law�s for my niece�s baptism. This time I got it two days before going to my sister in-law�s for Boxing Day. I haven�t been there in between these dates. Coincidence?* Maybe if I want to be more regular I should be going down for a visit every 28 days...

An entry on my Christmas holidays coming next. I promise.

* Of course, the answer is �yes� because that�s what a coincidence is. That�s why it�s called a coincidence.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland