With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Schrodinger's Blastocyst

2004-12-22 - 1:30 p.m.

I feel like a live version of the Schrodinger�s Cat Paradox. Though it�s hard to pinpoint the date I ovulated from my basal body temperature (BBT) chart (it was either 6 or 12 days ago but that�s another line of thought entirely), one thing that�s clear is that I did ovulate. So, thinking about this in a quantum manner, either fertilization and implantation occurred and I�m pregnant, or one of those steps failed and I�m not pregnant. Either way, until I either get my period or have a positive pregnancy test, I�m in a superposition of states (pregnant and not-pregnant).

This means that, prior to finding out one way or the other, I�m neither pregnant, nor not-pregnant, and I can�t be both pregnant and not-pregnant, because that would be a contradiction. Nor can I be half-pregnant or half-not-pregnant (as only Julie can be a little pregnant). I have to wait until one of the two signs above gives me the result before the superposition collapses, at which point, quantum-ly speaking of course, I will instantaneously at that moment of observation either become pregnant or not-pregnant.

Somehow though, I don�t think I could convince a doctor or midwife to accept the date of a pregnancy test as �Day 1� to start counting from. So much for quantum physics.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland