With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Christmas is looming.

2004-12-08 - 9:58 a.m.

I�m back at work and armed with yogurt, fruit cocktail (hee, hee, that word makes me laugh), and almond jello. No, not really Jello but gelatin and agar dessert. I believe it�s called Almond Do-fu. I do feel better though � does it show?

J talked to the police on Monday and they agreed to provide him with a copy of Scott McInnes�s headshot for his staff, so long as it wasn�t distributed publicly. If it were up to me his face would be on every hydro pole in the neighbourhood with �Wanted� stamped above it and the Crimestoppers number stamped below it, but I�ll take what I can get.

The district guy for his franchise has also promised a working surveillance system will be installed and is willing to discuss installing a panic button.

Of course, nothing has actually come to pass on either of these promises yet. Hey, no hurry right? It�s only my husband�s LIFE that this guy endangered.

J is holding up well despite the insane amount of stress he�s been under. A further bonus; we�ve now booked all our accommodation and transportation for our trip to Hawaii in January. Man, that is a break we�re looking forward to.

This is the first year I�ve ever looked at Christmas as something we �have to get through� and I�m not happy about that. I love Christmas. It�s the only thing that makes putting up with cold and snow worthwhile. I love the carols, and the lights, and gift giving, and the food (oh man, the food!), and spending time with my nearest and dearest. This year, no matter how much I enjoy the usual rituals with my family, the fact that J�s mother just passed away will cast a pall over J�s Christmas and when he�s not happy, nothing can make things perfect for me.

I have always liked J�s family as a whole and I think I�m very lucky for that. That having been said, I think it�d still be fair to say that my mother in-law and I were not tight. Sure, we liked each other just fine and I�d even say we got along much, much better than a lot of daughter in-laws and mother in-laws do. We weren�t the sort to call each other or chat without J being around though. What makes her passing hard for me is watching the effect of it on J and his family. During her hospitalization I did what I could for them and I still do what I can to support them, but there�s only so much I can do. Nothing will make up for their loss and I hurt for them. I wish I could make things better and I wish that the prospect of Christmas wasn�t so daunting this year.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland