With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Where I've been.

2004-11-26 - 9:52 a.m.

Ah, the few the proud, the faithful� Seeing the number of visitors this last week while I�ve been away has caused some definite guilt. Time to rectify that.

I spent Saturday and Sunday in Brampton with my best friend Jo and her amazingly well-behaved children. Her five year old behaved better (and willingly ate way more types of food) at dim sum than either of my brothers would have, and they�re more than twice her age.

I don�t like to trash-talk but my brothers themselves would happily admit that they�re some of the pickiest eaters around. They have never liked pizza, for instance, because they don�t like the texture of melted cheese. Their solution? Order their pizza with grated cheese on the side, unmelted. I have rarely seen them eat anything but chicken fingers, french fries, burgers, or the meat only from the great meals their mom cooks. Some vegetarians I know would say they are colon cancer waiting to happen. But I digress�

Jo and I also stopped in on her husband at his fencing tournament. It was cool to see how many women there were fencing sabre � when I did it (albeit badly) in university, I was one of very, very few.

Sunday I did some idle browsing for Christmas presents on Queen St. and only succeeded in finding one for myself (isn�t that always the way?) � a Storm watch whose lovely deep purpley-blue face matches one of my favourite new bras. (Overshare?) I had a rare dinner with my sister, then headed back to the hotel to chill. Monday and Tuesday I attended a conference in Toronto, then took the train back to attend another conference in Ottawa on Wednesday. Yesterday I was getting caught up with work and attending meetings. Now I finally have time to sit and type a bit.

One incident of note, I was in my hotel room briefly at the noon hour when I got a panicked call from J. It seems that my rather tall boss (who I had spotted easily) had not been able to spy the rather-short me in the crowd that morning and had feared that I�d had to stay in Ottawa due to a downturn in my mother in-law�s health (she�s still stable, by the way, and saying a few short sentences). He�d had someone in the office call J to see if that was the case. J, of course, knew that I was in Toronto and the last he�d heard from me I was going shopping and then out for dinner the night before. So, when he got a call saying I was �missing� he naturally freaked out. It�s a good thing I happened to be in my room to get his call at the time and reassure him that I hadn�t been mugged or hit by a bus or anything. My boss was very, VERY sheepish and apologetic over the whole thing. Next time I do believe he�ll check the hotel or conference people FIRST to see if I�ve checked in and picked up my registration, BEFORE PANICKING MY POOR HUSBAND WHOSE CONCERN FOR MY WELL-BEING KNOWS NO BOUNDS.

Poor guy.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland