With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Two steps forward, one step back, and the dreaded duckbills return.

2004-11-09 - 12:46 p.m.

So my mother in-law is definitely looking more alert. She seems to understand what people are saying and is making attempts to respond. Her eyes are open longer. Unfortunately, they had to send her for another CT scan last night because, for the first time, her pupils were different sizes. The results aren�t great but they�re not as bad as they could be � there�s no additional bleeding in her brain but there is evidence of some more swelling.

I can�t believe it�s only been just over a week since she went into the hospital. It really seems like so much longer.

---------------------

In other news, I had my yearly physical today. Some of you may recall the entries last year about this event. This year surprisingly little has changed. I�ve lost a bit of weight so I didn�t tip the scale into the next notch. Thanks to the nurse who didn�t give me time to take off my shoes, according to my chart I�ve gotten an inch taller (go me!). But despite the fact that the doc basically told me to hop on the baby train last year, I�m not a mom yet, or even pregnant. And that�s all I�ve got to say about that topic for now.

One thing that was kind of funny, thanks to the intimidatingly efficient nurse, I felt so rushed that when the doctor came in to the examining room I started talking a mile a minute. When she went to check my blood pressure it was high, like really high. My blood pressure is never high; it�s usually abnormally low, if anything. She shook her head and said decisively,

�I�m going out of the room to let you sit quietly for a minute. You�ve gotten all wound up talking about high-stress stuff and I want to re-take your pressure when you�ve had a chance to be still just beforehand.� and off she went.

A couple of minutes later the door cracked open and there she was, her finger pressed to her lips in a shushing gesture as she tiptoed back into the room. Sure enough, my pressure was back much closer to normal (124 over 76). She was much happier with that.

I�m also being sent for a consult with a physiotherapist who specializes in sports-related stuff. My knee has been making a disquieting grinding noise for the last while whenever I go up a set of stairs. It doesn�t hurt yet but I figure that old adage about �an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure� applies here. I�d hate to be told once it starts to hurt that I could have done something to prevent it becoming a real problem in the first place.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland