With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Please don't taaaake, my sunshine awaaaay.

2004-09-27 - 2:04 p.m.

It was a very low-key weekend with the highlight being a visit with the World�s Most Adorable Niece. J is over the moon because he was asked to be her godfather. He was careful to establish what that meant to his sister and her husband, i.e. that didn�t mean he was responsible for her religious upbringing (though he was so tickled I think he would have considered embracing religion just so that he could fill that role if it meant being her godfather), so that he could fulfill their expectations. It�s an honour he was tickled pink to accept. His brother in-law�s sister will be the godmother.

We�re going down for the christening at the end of October. I personally find it kind of funny that she�s being christened on Halloween but hey, maybe that�s just my warped sense of humour.

I have to say, I�m LOVING the weather we�ve been having here lately. It�s been sunny and warm during the day and cool and refreshing at night. On the first full day of fall I was outside in a tank top and shorts. I worked on my tan this weekend (don�t tell my doctor who is very anti-tanning). I know tanning isn�t healthy � it ages the skin, causes wrinkles, and can result in skin cancer � but I love not being the fish-belly white I am in winter. I look at pictures taken in the winter vs. pictures taken in the summer and I just. Can�t. Help but think I look better in the summer and pale and sickly in the winter.

Someday I may regret all the sun I�ve gotten in my life but really, I just love feeling the sun�s warmth on my skin so much that it�s worth the risk. I love trying for a golden beige, like a perfectly-toasted marshmallow. I love the smell my skin gives off when I�ve been in the sun. I remember as a kid vacationing in Florida, I was sitting in a pancake or waffle place (could it have been an IHOP?) with one knee drawn up to my chest. I had been at the pool or the beach that morning and I remember my knee smelled so good I licked it. It tasted like it smelled � not like sweat, though it was salty and had that quality that skin takes on when it�s been in the sun. I wish I could describe it better than that but it�s kind of like describing colour to a blind person, or, to put it less dramatically, what �swashbuckling� means without bringing in a reference to pirates. Even as a grownup, I�ll happily sniff my forearms while I�m lounging on the back deck and that smell is still the same.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland