With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Moving and a conundrum.

2004-09-02 - 10:06 a.m.

I have no deep musings today but I do have a few newsy items to catch up on:

My work team might be moving to a new building in the next little while. While I will miss the fact that I can open the windows here, I won�t miss the weird washrooms, or the fact that the elevators have a mind of their own. I�m looking forward to the move �cause it�ll be closer to my house and thus a shorter walk � always a good thing when winter is coming � and �cause I�m tired of shuttling up and down on the aforementioned elevators. Right now I�m on the 6th floor but the people I work with are mostly on the second so I�m forever running up and down. Oh well, at least it gives me a chance to get my butt out of my chair and get some exercise.

I�m going to be getting a raise! Woo hoo! The program I�m in has automatic times at which you�re eligible to move up the pay scale and I still have to do my promotion board to make it official but when I do, the raise is retroactive to the date I was eligible to get it. I think this might be due to the fact that the committees are more or less on the ball about getting organized for these boards and it would be penalizing the employee who was ready but whose committee couldn�t get it together fast enough to have the board on time. When I do get the retroactive pay cheque it�s going straight into my line of credit. I can�t wait to pay that sucker off!

I�ve realized that with the wiping out of the entry covering the weekend I�ve now not said anything about my grandmother�s birthday. The highlights are that she had a good time and got some good gifts, it was fun to see the family together, the food was, of course, absolutely fantastic (as it always is in my mom�s house), and my cousin announced that she and her fianc� have set a date� July 2nd next year.

Thud.

That just happens to be the date that some close friends of ours are also getting married. To put this in perspective, I have only 2 cousins that live on the continent; the friends getting married are close enough that my husband�s agreed to be their MC and I was supposed to organize the decorations (maybe this sort of thing is the reason you�re not supposed to ask people to be in your wedding party/plans this far in advance?). Other than Christmas, which is a given, the ONLY DAY I had firm plans for in ALL OF 2005 was July 2nd, and now I have TWO conflicting weddings, neither one of which I would normally miss. I can�t do both since one�s in Ottawa and the other is in Montreal. What�s a chyck to do? Doh! I think I�m going to have to go with the family wedding and hope the friends understand if I bow out of organizing their decorations (fortunately, they�d asked two of us to do it so the other person will still be available to take up the slack). This means J and I will have to go separate ways for the day and each will miss the other�s event, which kind of sucks, but I can�t think of another way around it. Silly marrying-type people.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland