With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

What does he mean "with?"

2004-08-12 - 5:33 p.m.

The doctor enters, and introduces himself. I stick out my hand and shake:

Uh, Shawna. Funny, I thought I�d met all of the doctors at this practice.

That wouldn�t actually be a positive thing would it?

I guess not. He�s not cracking a smile. Uh oh. Clearly he doesn�t get me.

So, what brings you here?

Oh, just another UTI. Couldn�t he have read the chart first?

So, burning? Frequency�?

Oh yeah, the usual suspects. Well, um, not so much a burning as a slight stinging. I don�t always let it get to that point but sometimes I try to tough it out.

surprised look So you get a lot of UTIs?

Again, um, the chart�? Well, um, yeah. Well, not always, although I had a lot in university and I seem to have had quite a few in the last while. I don�t know why, really because I do all the stuff I�m supposed to� [insert babbling whereby I try to sound very knowledgeable but can feel myself turning red and inside I am quaking in my mofo boots in anticipation of this guy not giving me the antibiotics. Bastard.]

Well the urine dip does indeed indicate that you have an infection�

Wha? So you DID read the chart and just didn�t want to let on? Is this a GAME to you?

� and I�ll have to send it for culturing but in the meantime I�ll write you a prescription.

Thankyouthankyouthankyou! Oh, that�d be great. Uh, the amoxicillin I had last time is out because you see I had an allergic reaction to it�

Yes, I see here that it was given to you because you hadn�t had your period as expected* so the doctor was concerned there was a slim chance you might be pregnant?

Oh, no, no, I�m not pregnant. I�m positive.

But you�re trying to become pregnant?

Nope, no, not yet.

With�?

What the fuck does that mean? Umm, my husband? Is this any of your business? - wiggles hand to show wedding ring

Oh, no, I meant �are you using condoms?�**

I�m only marginally certain that that is any more of your business but I�ll let it slip because you are the purveyor of the pills that will prevent me from tears during peeing every 5 minutes. Yes... among other things but I really don�t want to get into an in-depth discussion of this with a strange man.

Are you drinking cranberry juice?

To prevent pregnancy? Oh, to prevent UTIs. Yes. I know all about the cranberry juice. [Yet more babbling on the virtues of cranberry juice.]

So I�ll let you know if the prescription needs to be changed based on the results of the culture but if you don�t hear from me you can assume that the Septra will do the trick.

Thanks for seeing me on such short notice and thank God I�m getting outta here. Pharmacy, here I come.

---------------

* and still haven�t, thankyouverymuch.

** As near as I can figure out, the �with� was short for �with what sort of birth control are you trying to avoid being pregnant?�

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland