With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Almost a year.

2004-08-03 - 4:49 p.m.

In less than a week, J and I will have been married for one year. I pointed this out to some friends on the weekend and their response was, �Wow! Y�know that�s strange because on the one hand it seems like yesterday but at the same time, it seems like he�s always been here.�

Exactly.

J and I got engaged 9 months after meeting and married 9 months after that. That makes 2 � years we�ve now been together. Sure, I can remember my life before him and yes, it does seem like the last 2 � years have passed quickly, yet it really does seem like we�ve been together for much longer. Our lives, at the risk of sounding corny, have meshed almost seamlessly. We enjoy spending time together, whether we�re keeping busy or doing nothing at all.

A friend has remarked, with a touch of envy in her voice, on how happy we look. My response was to shrug it off with, �Well, we haven�t been together that long,� with the implication that she shouldn�t compare her own relationship unfavourably since they�ve been together for seven years. I figured that we were still in the honeymoon stage and had yet to weather any serious problems or differences of opinion. She�s right though, we are happy and we�ve yet to have our first serious fight (though we both agree that this will probably eventually be triggered by differences in parenting opinion).

With so many friends getting engaged lately, we�ve had the chance to reminisce about our own wedding in the name of providing helpful tips. This weekend we�re going to watch our wedding video for the first time. There may or may not be other romantic gestures that I can�t talk about here because I either don�t know about them yet (if he�s planning any - no pressure if you're reading this though honey, all I need is you to make this a great trip), or I don�t want to give any away. We�re also going away for a few days (to Quebec City � one of the stops we made on our honeymoon) so there won�t be anything posted from Friday until at least the following Wednesday. Consider yourselves forewarned.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland