With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Looking forward, looking back.

2004-07-19 - 1:09 p.m.

I�m at my first day on the new job and am sneaking in some lunch time to check in. I�m happy to find out that access to Diaryland isn�t blocked here, as I�d been worried it might be.

So far, I�ve been given a LOT of reading to do. It�ll take me awhile to get up to speed on what we�re doing and acquire the expertise on the Kyoto protocol they need from me. I�ve spent the morning looking more at the latter stuff than the former, as the rest of the group is intimately familiar with the project itself and I�ll be the one keeping an eye on the �green� aspects. Fortunately my boss is on holidays for three weeks so I have a bit of time to gear up.

I have to say, big believer that I am in sustainable development and green thinking in general, a lot of the research I�ve been doing this morning has kind of depressed me. My searches have led me to a lot of gloomy facts and predictions about climate change, and the havoc my species has been wreaking with abandon on the planet.

*sigh*

On the plus side, I�m glad that part of the job is trying to make a positive difference where these issues are concerned. I think you�ll be hearing a more preachy side of me in the upcoming entries as I get further and further into this job.

I�m actually using my boss�s office for the next little while. My workstation hasn�t been set up yet so I get the big office. It�s kind of weird to have walls instead of a cube in a cube farm. Not bad, just different.

------------------

There was a surprising amount of unscheduled time this weekend and rather than using it productively, it was great to kick back with J. We packed a picnic and hit a beach on the Ottawa River yesterday and it was fantastic; great company, fine granite sands, sun, cool water, not too many people, and an entertaining book.

We have no real plans, in fact, for the next few weekends � until we go away for a couple of days to celebrate our first anniversary in fact. I can�t believe it�s been almost a year since we got married. In many ways it seems like yesterday. I have a couple of friends in the planning stages for their own weddings right now and I�ve been trying to help by supplying them with �what worked� and �what didn�t work� lists. One thing I have noticed is that I did a huge amount of preparation and work for that wedding! At the time it was so spaced out that it didn�t seem all that onerous, to be honest, but now that I�m listing it all off at once I realize we took on a lot of the details that made it �ours� instead of a typical, generic affair. And it was worth it because I really think it was a reflection of us as individuals and as a couple. We�ve been saving the wedding video to watch on our first anniversary and I�m looking forward to seeing the day from another perspective, when I don�t have to think about keeping the guests happy, or the timing or coordination of everything.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland