With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

It's a start.

2004-06-23 - 1:04 p.m.

Dude! I�ve lost five pounds! This means I�m once again under the magic notch on the scale.

I wish I could report that they just floated off, and I don�t know how it happened but, yay!

In fact, I�ve been having to work for it a bit. Though I haven�t been writing about it, I�ve been changing my eating habits lately. Small things. I�ve cut back on cream and sugar in my coffee and now put maybe half a spoon of sugar but leave lots of room for skim or low-fat milk instead (helps prevent tooth-staining from the coffee, plus offsets the calcium leaching effect of caffeine). I�ve been having a couple of lunches a week that consist of a large citrus fruit and yogurt. I�ve been trying to drink more water which not only has no calories but helps stave off those nasty UTIs I�m prone to.

Some adjustments been easy though since it�s summer. Who wants to sit in the house when you can go for a walk in the balmy evening? My fall and winter cravings for warm comfort food are replaced by desires for salads and lean BBQed meats and I delight in the fresh produce available, especially strawberries.

The bad news is, I�d ideally like to lose another 15 and I suspect that it�ll be a long road there, if I manage at all. In the meantime though, I�m pretty pleased with myself. This won�t turn into a diet site or anything but I may mention from time to time if there�s any progress.

-----------------

Last night? Harry Potter baby! I loved it. I loved the books (which I read in French � I finally found out what the d�traquers are in English this round) and the movies have risen to the challenge. I hope they make the rest before the cast gets too old though. I�m fond of the current cast and I�d hate to see them replaced.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland