With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Jobs and Art.

2004-06-21 - 1:09 p.m.

Sorry to have been a big tease but as it turns out, I don�t have way, way more to tell you about the job situation and believe you me, I wish I did even more than you do. I thought I�d have been able to reach the person who�d offered me the other job but so far, no dice. She�s working from home today. I�ve left a message asking her to get in touch with me but if I�ve heard nothing by the end of today, tomorrow I�m calling my current home organization and asking them to find something there for me that starts in about 3 weeks.

The thing is, mentally, I�m outta here already. The current group, including my manager, is expecting me to go, and I�ve been preparing to go. The group I�m in is whittling down and there�s hardly anyone left and those that are here are generally, with a few exceptions, counting down until they leave. It�s time to move on.

In other news, I went to Montreal and bought two paintings from Valerie Butters this weekend. One for J and I to keep, the other as an investment (called Cotton Candy and Stained Glass Garden respectively if you�re looking at her website � they�re in Part 4 of available paintings right now but I don�t know when they�ll be moved to the sold paintings section). Valerie is having her first solo show in September and is about to be placed in galleries in Toronto and Vancouver, in addition to the one she�s already in in Montreal. I�ve agreed to loan back Stained Glass Garden for her solo show in September if they need it (demand is almost outstripping production and they�re having trouble keeping enough of her work back to amass enough for the show). It really is a spectacular piece. I�m hoping for a display card saying something like, �on loan from S. _______ and J. _______�or even with a �from the collection of� in there, �cause I�d totally get a kick out of that.

Hee. Look at me, the art collector.

I can�t wait to get them! They�ll be delivered in the next week or two.

I may have to be uncharacteristically sporadic in my updating for the next few weeks as there�s a bunch of stuff to do at work before I go, not to mention I�ve got to figure out when and how I�ll go. In the meantime, feel free to browse through the archives or check out the links to some of my favourite sites listed on the archive page.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland