With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Nothin' to see here.

2004-06-02 - 10:54 a.m.

After the whirlwind of news last week, it�s kind of a letdown to just chug along as usual this week.

I�m starting to get pictures of my new niece emailed to me and am faced with a bit of a moral quandary � I don�t think I should post images without the subject�s or, in this case, the subject�s parent�s permission, but I can�t get that permission without tipping them off about this journal�s existence. Believe me, I don�t want to do that. My Outlaws are great but I think that harmony between us partly relies on not getting in each other�s faces about certain beliefs.

For instance, they are card mad, MAD I SAY. They send cards for everything; they hand cards over with gifts; when my sister and brother in-law told us they were expecting, they handed us a card and they WERE SITTING RIGHT THERE; I�m surprised they don�t send thank you cards to acknowledge receipt of thank you cards. I think cards are a waste of paper/trees and environmentally unfriendly. If you�ve taken the trouble to come out for my birthday, I don�t need a card from you. If I�m actually celebrating Christmas in your presence Christmas Day? I don�t need a Christmas card as well. I know that cards are appropriate sometimes � I send thank you cards for gifts that I didn�t open in the presence of the giver and thus couldn�t thank them in person, and I send Christmas cards to people far away that I know would appreciate getting them, for example � but I think they�re unnecessary and a waste of paper other times. Anyway, I�m digressing; my point is that my sister in-law thinks I should be grateful to get any and all cards because she thinks they are a good thing (I think she should respect my requests not to send them all the time) and I don�t think reading my reasons here would make her �get� my opinion or do anything but cause friction. Hence the root of the reason I don�t want her reading this journal if I can avoid it.

Yet my niece is so damn cute! How can I not share her overwhelming adorability with the world? And I�m not one of these people that thinks all babies are beautiful � I�m not even really much of a �baby person� � so you can believe me when I say she is totally scrumptious.

For now, I suppose you�ll just have to take my word for it. But if my sister in-law ever does find this journal, at least I�ll have the consolation of being able to ask if I can post pics on it. And then watch as I quickly fill up my allotted memory space.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland