With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

My path has been decided.

2004-05-27 - 11:02 a.m.

This being the week for big announcements, I might as well fess up and let people know that I�ve accepted one of the jobs I was offered. (Private note to Paul: Sorry. If you�d still been there it might have been a different story.) I still have to let my current home department know and I am waiting for details such as dates, etc. before I do, but I�ve been made an offer I can�t refuse. That part about running my own program with its own budget proved just too tempting.

In the end, the one that was my first choice (based on the fact that I really clicked with the boss) just couldn�t get a solid offer my way in time and I was afraid that if I turned down the other one, the one that was madly wooing me, I�d end up not actually getting either and going back to my old workplace. It didn�t hurt that they�d upped the ante while I was deliberating either. I�m not going to get into office politics so suffice it to say, there have been some recent developments in the way my job program�s being handled there that I�m not too keen on, and I�m not the only one.

So� the bad news is that when I do start work there (in more than two but probably less than 4 weeks), you might not see the daily updates being maintained for awhile. I�ll still make an effort but there�s no way I can predict what my schedule will be like, except that busy can probably be counted on. The good news is that I�ve gotten into the habit of writing so it doesn�t actually take that long to write an entry and I�ll do my darnedest to keep it up. In the meantime, I fully expect the slow pace around here to allow me to soldier on as I have been.

I should soon have lots of tales to recount, given my busy weekend schedule for the next month...

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland