With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Options. Options are good.

2004-05-14 - 12:11 p.m.

So if you�re wondering why I didn�t post with my usual alacrity today, it�s because I was over at another department interviewing for position there. Like all potential jobs, there are pros and cons to be weighed but the bottom line I�m working with here is that if I want to go there, they�ll �make it happen�. (There are some convoluted rules and processes around hiring in the government � even hiring internally � so it actually would take a bit of dedication to move things quickly.)

As well, there�s still the job on the table that I interviewed for a couple of weeks ago. The main issue with that one is actually the hiring system as they want me and I do think I�d like it there. It depends really, on the persistence and clout of the person who wants to bring me in. I�m not suggesting any of the due processes would be circumvented; merely acknowledging that the person in each department who makes the decisions regarding the program I�m in is the one who will ultimately have to agree to bring me into the fold.

At any rate, both teams have some interesting challenges and the people that I�d be working with really appeal in both cases, so there will be some soul-searching going on if it turns out that the final decision between the two is mine.

Other than that, things are in a bit of a holding pattern around here. I have no huge angst to entertain you with, J is working both mornings this weekend so we have no big plans except maybe helping a couple of friends move, the running training is still coming along painfully slowly (and I mean those last two words literally) with the race only a couple of weeks away, and there�s no news on the imminent birth of my niece or nephew.

Next weekend is the long weekend, plus my mother�s birthday on the Monday and my brother�s on the Tuesday so there should be some fun and frolic to report; the weekend after that is choc-a-block with the race, the Great Glebe Garage Sale, and my sister and grandmother descending for the weekend to celebrate my mother�s birthday. There is talk of Montreal the weekend after that and sometime in June we may be heading to Toronto for my sister�s college graduation.

In other words, between my potential job change, busy plans and the anticipated new addition to the family (and that�s just what I foresee and doesn�t take into account any surprises), I should have more to write about in the upcoming weeks.

Of course, when nothing of note happens, I�m just going to torture you with these �nope, nothing happening here� entries because heaven forbid I miss a day! Hey, at least I�m quasi-dependable, right?

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland