With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Man, that's one big baby!

2004-05-05 - 9:21 a.m.

Just to add on to yesterday�s post, it turns out that they went with Griffin for the first name (which I quite like, not that my opinion on this matters a whit), and Atari as a middle name. That�s not too bad as it probably won�t come up very often and strange middle names aren�t all that rare. My sister�s middle name was Alu while we were growing up. She has since changed her name and Alu didn�t make the cut (she took a new first name that was more �her�, moved her old first name to the middle, and dropped her married name in favour of a slightly changed version of her maiden name), but I don�t think I would have minded it. My middle name is Lynn and it�s always seemed like every other female I�ve met has Lynn as a middle name; something more unique would have appealed to me.

Since I�m on a baby roll, I should let you all know that my sister inlaw has received a mix of good news and bad. I didn�t mentioned it but her baby had been in a breech position and there was some concern that it wouldn�t be able to turn [foreshadowing] because it might be too big.[/foreshadowing] This would have meant a scheduled C-section.

Well, at more than 4 weeks before the due date the ultrasound revealed that the baby had turned and thus they could try for a normal delivery.

The bad news? The ultrasound technician estimated that the baby, at that point, weighed about eight pounds.

Let me just say that again. The baby, with almost five weeks of development and growing left to do, already weighed eight freakin� pounds! Don�t babies put on a lot of their weight at the end of the pregnancy? Is she looking at a potential 10+ pounder?

Talk about your mixed blessings! If I�d been the recipient of that news I would have probably said, �So about that C-section, are you sure that�s a no-go? �Cause I could probably be persuaded to still consider it��

As of yesterday her doctor has ordered her to stay home because her blood pressure has gotten too high. The general suspicion among friends and family is that she�ll probably be early. At the very least I strongly suspect they won�t let her go any later than her due date and will induce if she reaches it.

Less than a month and I�ll be an aunt!

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland