With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Finally, the recipe I promised, lo these many moons.

2004-04-28 - 10:10 a.m.

There may be some people who frequent the same comments boards I do that have been bitterly disappointed with the fact that I haven�t followed through on posting my muffin recipe to this point. I have taunted and teased with tales of the ambrosia that is these muffins, only to have let the recipe remain a mystery. When someone googled me with �talpidae+recipe� the guilt finally got to me. For those who read of its existence only yesterday, your wait, it has not been so long.

I have a couple of things I should mention first: I�m posting the recipe as I got it from my mother (who got it from a friend, who got it from her sister, etc.), but I generally halve the oil, add a touch more pumpkin to make up for it (most cans of cooked pumpkin hold a bit more than 2 cups anyway), and almost double the chocolate chips. The other thing to watch out for is if you�re buying cooked pumpkin, make sure it�s just pumpkin and not pumpkin pie filling.

But without further ado, here it is.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins (better than they sound, honestly)

4 eggs
1 cup oil
2 cups sugar
3 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons cinnamon
2 cups cooked/canned pumpkin
1 cup chocolate chips

  • In a large bowl, beat the eggs, add the oil and stir in the sugar.

  • To make the muffins with a minimum of dishes, I do this all in one bowl and add the next five ingredients all on top, stir it around a bit on the top, and then dig my mixing spoon down to the bottom to them mix into the first set of stuff, but if you want to be more of a purist, you should sift the flour into a separate bowl and thoroughly mix it with the baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon before adding it all to the first three ingredients and mixing.

  • Add the pumpkin and chocolate chips. Mix.

  • Spoon the batter into greased muffin tins (it makes about 2 dozen so you may want to halve the recipe if it will just be you eating them and you don�t have freezer space).

  • Bake for � an hour at 350 degrees.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland