With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

A sign of spring coming!

2004-04-05 - 9:57 a.m.

The days may not be longer but they now seem longer; Daylight Savings Time is here! Unlike Weetabix who laments the time changes, I love DST. Who cares if I lose an hour in April? It�s spring baby! And in the fall? The fact that it�s getting colder and gets darker earlier is somewhat salved by being granted an extra hour of sleep.

If I had my way, we�d have DST all year �round; I hate the fact that it�s pitch black when I leave my office at 4:30 in the afternoon in December. I do, however, seem to recall reading that this was tried once and school kids were waiting for the bus in the dark, so the idea was abandoned. I guess it�s not all about me, me, me. [sigh]

On a bleaker note, it�s 11 degrees below freezing this morning and we had 5 cm of snow last night. Winter is getting it�s final licks in before being beaten back by the fact we�re starting our tilt towards the sun. It�s hard to believe we�ll have grass and flowers (hopefully) by the end of this month.

For those of you keeping score the baby shower for my sister in-law on Saturday was a success. There was one last-minute cancellation of two people and the two that hadn�t replied but that I�d thought would show up didn�t, so it was a little sparser than I would have liked (and provided food for). The mom-to-be, however, was totally surprised and happy and that�s what counts. Well, that and deep down so does impressing my mother in-law, which I think I did, and she is not an easy woman to impress.

My cold is still lingering � did I mention I caught a fairly mild, yet apparently persistent, cold last week? It�s nowhere near as bad as some I�ve had and I�ve made it to work. I just hope that no one gets it from me. I always scold people for coming in when they�re sick and yet, I did the same thing. I think I actually may have gotten it from a woman here at work so if everyone�s already been exposed to it before I got it, there may not be any new casualties. I can�t really complain, I�ve made it unscathed through multiple colds going around in the last year, including four my husband brought home. I may have gained a few pounds in the last year but I�ve never been healthier (except for this last week when I got my comeuppance for boasting how long it had been since I had a cold. Doh! That�ll learn me.)

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland