With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Daddy's little girl at heart.

2004-03-11 - 1:28 p.m.

Before I forget, I�d like to congratulate Jessamyn on the new arrival. Kathleen is beautiful (and I�m not one of these people that thinks that about every baby, so you know it�s true).

It�s been awhile since I�ve written about what�s going on with the idea of having a baby sometime soon in our household. It�s not like it�s dropped from our conversations and we�re still thinking this year will be the year to ditch the Pill and go for it, it�s just that there always seems like a reason for it to be �in a few months� as opposed to �now.� J has started his new business but I�m still in the same job and looking for something more settled. Also, with both the race and a big hike coming up in May and June respectively, I�m reluctant to stop taking the Pill before then. Being pregnant while putting huge demands on my body for training and racing doesn�t seem like the best of ideas and also, I know this sounds completely selfish, but I�m so used to not having to deal with that monthly flow that the thought of potentially having to do so while wilderness camping with my father just has less than zero appeal. In fact, it kind of icks me out. I know that lots of women who don�t take the Pill 24/7 go camping and just deal with it if it coincides with menstruation, but it�s something I�ll avoid if I can. The fact that I�ll be with my Dad just somehow makes a difference in my mind; he may intellectually know that I�m a woman, but in his mind I�m still his little girl, and I�d rather not cause any rude awakenings by waving red flags in his face, if ya know what I mean.

Speaking of the race...

10K training progress: Well, none. I taught two classes at the gym yesterday so I didn�t get any running in. I�ll be doing some tonight though.

It�s funny though, I�ve been feeling thinner the last week or so. My clothes seem to fit just a little bit better but, according to the scale, I haven�t actually lost any weight. Maybe I�m just getting used to my current size? I kind of hope not because it would lessen my motivation to get down to what I still think of as my �normal� weight, even though I haven�t actually been that weight in a couple of years. At the very least I want my BMI to proclaim that I�m an average healthy weight for my height and right now it�s reluctant to do that.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland