With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

What a cute little... um... skeleton?

2004-01-27 - 9:17 a.m.

I think I�ve mentioned that I�m going to be an aunt? My sister inlaw is now about � way through her pregnancy and I just got an email with the first ultrasound pictures of my niece or nephew-to-be.

I have to admit I was a little startled. All ultrasound pictures I�d seen in the past had showed the foetus from the side, curled like a small, balloon-headed sea creature. I suppose I hadn�t really been up on the refinements in ultrasound techniques. They can focus on very specific areas and depths of the womb now, apparently. The first set showed the feet. Awww. Little tiny feet with little tiny toes! How cuuuute. The next set though, well, the next set showed a full-on face view of the baby�s head complete with little skeleton arms, one curled coyly against the neck and the other waving a mini wave beside the enormous skull. Or perhaps she/he was scratching an ear, or maybe playing charades in an attempt to communicate with the outside world and only getting as far as the "sounds like" movement before the technician moved on, the rest of the message getting lost forever. I don�t know how developing babies amuse themselves floating around in the dark for so long. But I digress...

The baby�s eye sockets seem HUGE for the head and gape cavernously, bracketing the little nares (nose holes). The head seriously reminds me of the skull and skeleton decorations I�ve seen for Dia de los Muertos. I wanted to say "Oh sweet, look at da widdle baby!" but instead was slightly unsettled at the ghostly image and thought "Skeleton! Waving at me!"

Of course I emailed back to my sister inlaw saying how awesome the pics are and they are definitely interesting, but of course I left the part out about the vague creeped-out-ness they inspired. I�m sure the baby will be very cute once it�s born and I see it with flesh on it and everything.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland