With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Too many great people, too little time.

2004-01-26 - 11:19 a.m.

Yesterday I went to brunch with a couple that I�ve known for quite awhile. In a way I would call them friends � particularly the fellow. I attended full-time French training every day with him for over half a year and when you spend all day trying to come up with stuff to talk about in the language you�re trying to acquire, you end up sharing a lot of personal history with the class and everyone gets to know each other pretty well. He and his girlfriend recently became engaged and are planning an outdoor wedding this summer. Since J and I had an outdoor wedding in August, and had a lot of tips to share on what worked for us and what didn�t, this provided a great excuse to get together. Perhaps I�ll post some of that here another time. What I�m currently musing on is why I say �in a way I would call them friends.�

I really like these people. They are both extremely nice, intelligent, interesting, articulate, and about J�s and my age. I would really like to be able to unhesitatingly call them friends. And they like us. We have a good time when we get together. They are not the only couple I can think of of whom I�d say this either. Great, dynamic and fun to talk to; these are qualities of a few people/couples to whose label of �friends� I would have to add a qualifier.

Here�s the thing though, since meeting J almost two years ago, this is the first time we have deliberately gotten together with this couple. In fact, I think that J had only met the woman when we�d run into her at an Art In the Park last summer and he hadn�t even met the guy before.

I guess this is my point and there is no ready solution:

It just seems a shame that there isn�t really enough time or opportunity in life to spend with people, who you know you like and get along with well, to really get to know them and become solid friends with them.

Everyone has friends who need a bit more than others; interaction with them may drain you a bit, but it�s worth it to you because you value them for whatever reason. But there are others who just seem to give you a bit of a boost and coming away from seeing them, you feel a bit happier and a bit more energized and just plain happy to have such cool people to laugh with around. As I�ve said before, I am very fortunate in my friends and almost always have been. I also have to say that as I�ve gotten older, the proportion of friends who are of the former type has shrunk and the proportion of the latter has grown. Unfortunately, I think that, with the addition of J�s group to spend time with, I have reached a critical mass in that I just don�t have a lot of time to make new friends without seeing too little of the great ones I�ve already got.

Too many great people, too little time. And if that is something I�m actually complaining about these days, I consider myself a lucky woman indeed. Take heart about-to-be-30-somethings, it�s not so bad being done with the turbulent days of my 20s. If I�d kept a journal back then it would have been positively filled with pathos.

------------

Oh yeah, welcome to the new design! I hope people like it but no matter what, it's got to be a step up from the template I had been using. So much more personal, dontcha think?

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland