With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Incongruity.

2003-12-11 - 9:45 a.m.

I was strolling through the downpour to work today, watching the sidewalk for treacherous patches of ice that hadn�t yet melted from last night�s freezing rain, and a flash of yellow caught my eye. Nestled in the grass by the sidewalk gleamed a banana pepper. I suppose someone leaving the Greek takeout place up the block had probably tossed it down with a contemptuous flick. It looked so bright and shiny amongst the riparian brown that I wished I had a camera to capture it.

I got to the corner and, waiting for the light to change, was a cheery green umbrella. With a thin, wide, red smile painted on it. And little fins on top on which were painted bulbous froggy eyes. A child out on her own? No. My eyes followed the green motif down to the purse and I took a sharper look at her. These splashes of colour belonged to a petite Chinese woman tastefully dressed in dark grey with accents of burgundy. She looked dressed for a day at the office.

This brings me to...

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland