With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

The ups and downs of the weekend.

2003-12-05 - 4:59 p.m.

Alas! No Toronto for me this weekend. There were many good reasons not to go which I stubbornly ignored for as long as I could, but when push came to shove I had to beg off this morning.

That�s bad.

No one yet knows we�ll be in town this weekend. This means I can now clean the house and buy and wrap presents and Hub and I even picked up the Christmas tree today so we�ll be able to trim it this weekend.

That�s good.

Hub has a friend moving Saturday and now feels obligated to help, plus he has to do some work-related stuff now that we�ll be in town.

That�s bad. (Well, not totally bad in the sense that we�re happy to help friends move but bad in the sense that our stolen time is already being impinged upon.)

We do have Sunday unaccounted for and I�ve made Hub promise to disregard his almost pathological need to answer the phone and screen calls so we don�t get sucked into distractions.

That�s good.

Some stores that I want to go to aren�t going to be open on Sunday.

That�s bad.

We will make it to the gym this weekend.

That�s good.

And I really need to go because I�m still freaked out by how much I weigh these days and Christmas eating hasn�t even started yet.

That�s bad. Very bad.

If all goes well I will get the papers finally filled out to file for our New Housing Rebate which should mean a couple of thousand dollars coming to us.

That�s good. Very good.

That money is added to your taxable income for the year, which makes zero sense to me since it�s a rebate on tax you�ve already paid out. They give you relief from one tax and then tax a percentage of it right back from you? Gyp!

That�s bad.

My sister finally emailed me a response (and non-snarky at that) about scheduling for Christmas and agreed to arrive as early and stay as late as we need her to accommodate everyone�s holiday plans.

That�s good.

And...

I�ve got dinner plans with awesome friends to celebrate birthdays this coming week.

Good.

I�ve got Christmas parties coming up and fun will hopefully be had by all.

Good!

I think I�ll be semi-ready for Christmas after this weekend.

Good again!

I�ll get to spend time with family over Christmas and Hub probably even has Christmas and Boxing Day off (my fingers are crossed) so we can spend some time together as a married couple for our first Christmas! Yay!

The good-est!

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland