With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

I blame the turkey.

2003-11-18 - 1:19 p.m.

Ugh. I am pretty convinced that it was food poisoning.

To put it delicately, during much of Sunday night and Monday day it seemed that anything in my digestive system was hell-bent on making a run for the nearest exit. I considered the possibility that it was the flu and felt a bit sheepish at having to confess that fact to the same people to whom I had declared my intention of not getting the flu shot this year. I don�t really believe in the flu shot for healthy adults, or at least for this healthy adult. I know that I wouldn�t go clog up emergency rooms if I got it � I�d grit my teeth and stay in the relative comfort of my own bed. Everyone I know who gets the flu shot still seems to get sick in the winter because it doesn�t protect against colds. And this morning on the news I heard that this year�s wave of flu has started but that it�s a strain that wasn�t included in this year�s shot. But I digress�

J and I had had dinner at the Outlaws on Sunday evening and it turned out that his mother also had stomach problems that night so I really do think it was the food. We had something that claimed to be turkey breast but was all bound up in string. When a turkey is still on the bone with skin intact I think it�s safer as only the outside has been exposed to potential contamination and even then the skin provides a thin layer of a protection; but when it�s been pulled apart and bound back together it seems to me that there�d be more chance of bacteria making it into the bundle, between the pieces of meat. The fact that two of us got sick and two didn�t just reinforces my suspicions as bacterial colonies can occur in pockets and are not generally uniformly spread throughout food.

The upshot of this was a very unpleasant time. I�m now back at work and eating Jell-O and applesauce but I will probably not venture solid foods until this evening.

The weekend itself was good though � went to the hockey game with friends Saturday, got to spend some time with my hubby, dinner with his parents that was nice, the ultimate outcome notwithstanding.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland