With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Yo ho ho and a bottle of rum.

2003-11-03 - 3:17 p.m.

I confess, I watch Survivor. I used to have a roommate who was an old and dear friend of mine and we enjoyed each other�s company but we had almost no common interests to socialize around. Enter Survivor. Almost every Thursday we made a point of watching Survivor and eating dinner together. This was back in the days of Survivor Australia and we�ve kept it up ever since. We don�t live together anymore but we do get together every second or third week to watch it. I don�t get Global at my place so it�s usually a case of me getting out to her neighbourhood and we go for food ahead of time, or eat at her place, and then I linger for CSI (her partner�s favourite show) before heading home. It�s a great routine and gives us an excuse to stay in close touch; as well, it�s a good show for this sort of thing because it provides the basis for a lot of yelling at the TV and chit chat during commercials or slow periods. This past Thursday I couldn�t watch it so I had a friend tape it and was made to promise that I�d call the ex-roommate as soon as I�d had a chance to watch it. That turned out to be last night and I thought it was one of the best episodes I�d seen.

I�ve clearly been reading too many on Miss Alli�s Survivor recaps on Television Without Pity (my favourite quote from the recaplet this week was �Jeff Probst just about takes Osten's teeth out with the brass knuckles of his contempt�), because when Jeff Probst skipped the voting in Tribal Council and told Osten (who had just willingly quit the game) to �Go home�, I was all �Yeah! Oh he is SO my new boyfriend for that!� This elicited a look of semi-horror from my husband who is not as hip with the online lingo as I pretend to be. And when I checked the TWoP forums, what did Miss Alli have in her post? �Oh, and also? Jeff Probst is still my boyfriend.� Scary.

As an aside, I have certainly noticed a proliferation of sayings I only find online in the last couple of years. I have yet to hear one of the many variations of �blah, blah, fishcakes� said out loud but when I do, I know I�ll have found a kindred spirit. I can�t claim to know where that saying started but I seem to recall first seeing it on Hissyfit so perhaps it�s Wing Chun�s baby.

At any rate, yes, Survivor is probably not great TV and I feel compelled to defend my viewing of it from time to time, but it�s a guilty pleasure and this season is definitely more entertaining than some I�ve seen. So nyah.

P.S. If anyone has sent me mail, I haven't gotten it. I deleted all my junk mail from the folder and forgot to check the second page first so now it's gone. Sorry. I'm not ignoring anyone on purpose and if I ever do get mail I will try to reply. Really.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland